Office, Umhlangane, KwaZulu-Natal. Ruben Reddy Architects for Eiger Group.

So, this is dull. The northern edge doesn’t address the street in any meaningful way. The western edge flat-out ignores it. It ignores the sun too! I’m not sure how the wavy bit relates to the rest of the scheme. Materials have been applied to surfaces in what must be a desperate attempt to distract us from the fact that the building’s really a plastered lump, painted a smoggy grey-blue. And the red? Really?

IMG_5010[edited450]

The southern elevation tries a little harder. But becomes an essay in the disparities between the vision sold and the cynical, developer-trodden reality.

ArchitecturalRender[450]

IMG_5016[edited450]

26 Responses to Office, Umhlangane, KwaZulu-Natal. Ruben Reddy Architects for Eiger Group.

  1. leroy says:

    hi there. your opinion is much appreciated. i am in no affiliated with the architects of the above project. but my question to you is, what would your response be to the brief for the above project? what would you have done otherwise? how long have u been working in south africa now, and for whom?

  2. Lateralus says:

    Wow renders can be deceiving!
    This is a dead thread:(
    I haven’t got any response…
    Maybe SilentBee got lynched for his/her comments:0

  3. silentbee says:

    @Lateralus,
    I’m in the process of moving, so I’ve been ignoring the blog a bit. Thanks for the comments though. I’ll be back soon…

  4. amazing… I didn’t even know we had a completed building! I know that comes across as sarcasm but I am really surprised. We generally do work with bigger companies on huge projects just so we can add our name to the project team. Scheduling etc. I met a guy yesterday who accused Ruben Reddy as “being a front for white owned firms,” would love to have defended by employer but wasn’t quite sure how to or if i could. A sad building that is a reflection of an even more sorry architectural firm.

  5. ipecs 50 says:

    ipecs 50…

    […]Office, Umhlangane, KwaZulu-Natal. Ruben Reddy Architects for Eiger Group. « Your Architecture is Bad[…]…

  6. Training says:

    Training…

    […]Office, Umhlangane, KwaZulu-Natal. Ruben Reddy Architects for Eiger Group. « Your Architecture is Bad[…]…

  7. It’s going to be ending of mine day, except before ending I am reading this impressive piece of writing to improve my experience.

  8. Ella says:

    Valuable information. Lucky me I found your web site accidentally,
    and I’m surprised why this accident didn’t happened earlier!

    I bookmarked it.

  9. Karol says:

    Your means of telling all in this post is really nice, every one can easily be aware
    of it, Thanks a lot.

  10. Timothy says:

    Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank you,
    However I am encountering troubles with your RSS.
    I don’t know why I cannot subscribe to it. Is there anyone else having identical RSS problems? Anybody who knows the solution can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  11. After looking at a handful of the articles on your website, I really appreciate your technique of writing a blog.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list and will be checking
    back soon. Please visit my web site too and tell me what you think.

  12. Hi there, I discovered your blog via Google whilst looking for a similar subject, your site got here up, it seems great.
    I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just changed into alert to your weblog via Google, and located that it’s really informative. I’m gonna be careful for brussels.
    I’ll appreciate should you proceed this in future. Many other folks can be benefited out of your writing. Cheers!

  13. For newest information you have to pay a visit world wide web
    and on world-wide-web I found this website as a finest site for latest updates.

  14. What’s up, after reading this awesome post i am also happy to share my knowledge here with
    mates.

  15. I know this website offers quality based posts and additional data,
    is there any other website which presents these kinds
    of things in quality?

  16. Charla says:

    This allows you to publish your blog on mobile as well as
    upload pictures instantly. When a visitor to your website fills out an online form,
    you will receive an email with all the information they provided.
    A logo is the graphical representation of a company, group or organisation that conducts
    business.

  17. always i used to read smaller posts which as well clear
    their motive, and that is also happening with this
    piece of writing which I am reading at this time.

  18. Its like you read my mind! You seem to grasp a lot approximately this,
    such as you wrote the e-book in it or something.
    I feel that you just could do with some % to force the message home a bit, however other
    than that, this is great blog. A great read. I will certainly be
    back.

  19. That is really attention-grabbing, You are an excessively skilled blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and look forward to looking for more of
    your fantastic post. Additionally, I’ve shared your site in my social
    networks

  20. Great site you’ve got here.. It’s hard to find quality writing like yours
    these days. I really appreciate individuals like you!
    Take care!!

  21. Great info. Lucky me I found your website by chance (stumbleupon).
    I have book-marked it for later!

  22. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished
    to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your blog
    posts. After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed
    and I hope you write again very soon!

  23. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I really appreciate your
    efforts and I am waiting for your next write ups thanks once again.

  24. Hi there to every one, the contents present at this web site are really remarkable for people experience,
    well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  25. make site web says:

    Yes! Finally someone writes about youtube marketing.

  26. Nice blog here! Additionally your website loads
    up very fast! What web host are you the usage of?

    Can I get your affiliate hyperlink on your host? I
    want my site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

Leave a comment